top of page

I have a secret...

Okay, I will admit it. I am a millennial (gasp!). What does that mean? Realistically it just means that I was born within a certain range of years, but if you ask social media it means I am entitled, lazy, and self-centered. Even Simon Sinek, who I have admired for his speeches in the past, thinks that I can’t handle the real world due to failed parenting strategies and technology (Sinek, 2016). Unfortunately, it gets worse for my reputation. Because I was born at the end of 1992, I am right on the cusp of also being considered part of Generation Z, which means that I apparently eat Tide Pods and participate in other internet challenges that put me in danger, while also still being entitled, lazy, and unaware because my head is always in a device. I am a member of the iGeneration; I am defined by technology use, my need to multitask, and my love of electronic communication (Rosen, 2011). In general, people think that my generation is incapable of being successful because technology has ruined us.

The creation and expansion of modern technology in the 90s and 2000s has changed the lives of those born since its boom, but it has not ruined us. I am truly thankful that I was born when I was, regardless of how the internet may portray me. I grew up on landlines but had a pink RAZR flip phone in middle school to text my friends with T9, played board games and enjoyed outside time but soon had handheld video games, suffered through dial-up internet to chat on AIM, had a paper tablet in elementary school but a digital tablet by the end of high school, owned a digital camera to take pictures because phones couldn’t yet, helped my parents use paper maps in the car but used MapQuest to print my directions by the time I could drive, and the extent of my digital learning in school was playing Oregon Trail. I had a traditional childhood, but technology grew up with me. New types of technology came out right at the time I was, in my opinion, developmentally ready for them. At this point in 2018, I am very dependent on technology, but I also know when and how to escape from it to be mindful and present.

On the other hand, the technology was already here when today’s students were born. My fourth graders don’t know life without modern technology such as the smart phone, high speed internet, tablets, and gaming devices. They are dependent on technology, and it plays an important role in their lives. A study the Pew Research Center found that 92% of teens go online daily, and almost 75% of teens have a smartphone (Lenhart, 2015). In general, people think they are doomed, but I think they are headed straight for success. Because of the technology my students have in school (Chromebooks, iPads, Promethean Boards, etc.) and at home (iPhones, laptops, Xbox Live, etc.) they have unique learning opportunities. They can be global citizens, connecting with the world around them, and be both content consumers and content creators. They may have to overcome challenges like cyberbullying, internet scams, and misinformation online, but they also have a plethora of knowledge and experiences at their fingertips.

The truth is that at this point, we are all dependent on technology regardless of generation. Even my grandfather got an iPhone and created a Facebook. The change that technology can make is in how we use it, and our students’ personal lives and educational opportunities are severely impacted. I just hope it is always a positive impact.

References

Lenhart, A. (2015, April 9). Teens, social media & technology overview 2015 (Rep.). Retrieved http://www.pewinternet.org/2015/04/09/teens-social-media-technology-2015/

Rosen, L. (2011). Teaching the igeneration. Retrieved from http://www.steveclarkprincipal.com/uploads/1/6/5/2/16527520/teaching_the_igeneration.pdf Rosen_teaching_the_igeneration.pdf

Sinek, S. [David Crossman]. (2016, October 29). Simon Sinek on millennials in the work place. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hER0Qp6QJNU

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page