top of page

Wait, what was I writing about? Oh yeah...

As I sit here typing this…

  • television is on

  • phone is next to me getting texts and calls

  • headphone is in ear

  • Apple Watch is on wrist

  • email is open

  • 14 tabs are open on Google Chrome

  • social media is being rechecked

  • husband is talking to me

  • brain is thinking about tasks to complete before bed

This is cognitive overload (McNelis, 2014). My attention is dragged in every direction, and it’s hard to focus on one thing. My husband asks me about taking out the recycling, and I respond “uhhh huhh,” not even listening to what he said. My email dings, and I think, “Oh, is that the shipping notification I’ve been waiting for from Amazon?” The phone rings, and my Grammy wants to know what I had for dinner. Here’s the problem – I can’t remember. I’ve filled my brain with so many things that I cannot even remember what I just ate because my working memory is overworked.

I felt like McNelis (2014) was truly speaking on my behalf. I’ll be with old friends when they bring up a fun or weird memory. I’ll say, “Oh really? I don’t remember that!” My best friend always responds, “I know, you never remember.” Every summer I promise myself that I will read a book for pleasure (not academic), and every year I break that promise because I cannot get through more than two pages. My brain is always moving because of cognitive overload.

Bates (2016) discussed cognitive overload from a different perspective. While McNelis (2014) discussed the various aspects of cognitive overload like social media, Bates (2016) looks at it from a more academic perspective in terms of multimedia. Videos can cause cognitive overload when they give too much information, give information too quickly, or give information that is too complex. Learners cannot be expected to absorb and then apply all of the information from an overwhelming video.

As an educator experiencing cognitive overload, many times from both perspectives, it is important to recognize that both students AND I need that time away from technology. Technology isn’t always the answer. Sometimes we need to dial it back and feel an actual book in our hands or the grass under our feet with the wind in our hair. Students need more than technology, and that is crucial to remember for course development. Technology is changing our brain, and it’s our job to take back control.

References

Bates, T. (2016). Teaching in a digital age: Guidelines for designing teaching and learning. Vancouver, BC: Tony Bates Associates. Retrieved from https://teachonline.ca/sites/default/files/pdfs/teaching-in-a-digital-age_2016.pdf

McNelis, D. [TEDx Talks]. (2014, November 6). Cognitive overload – Rewire your brain in a digital age [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0ztO86ImQg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page