top of page

Am I an innovator? Are you?


If you want to innovate, you have to be an innovator. If you want to help students become innovators, you have to be an innovator. This got me thinking…am I an innovator? I believe an innovator is someone who introduces new ideas and changes the game. In some ways I am an innovator, but I have room to grow.

Joi Ito (2014) suggested that people should stop planning and just be present in the moment, ready to learn. This is me, a “now-ist.” I don’t wait to try something new. Why wait? The learning opportunity is right over the bridge of failure; you’ll make it if you jump far enough or take several jumps. As teachers know, some of the most valuable lessons come from unplanned teachable moments or a new idea that pops into your brain right before the students walk in the door. Struggle together, learn together.

Perhaps I consider myself a “now-ist” because I am flexible and supported by an administration that wants me to try new things and fail forward. My district is open to innovative teaching and new ways of learning. My administration has provided my classroom with various tools for learning such as Chromebooks, iPads, robotics kits, Accelerated Reader, First in Math, etc. They also pay for training through Discovery Education to show teachers how to use the technology appropriately and effectively, and focus many professional development days on innovative learning.

I was having an internal debate if my instruction is technology-rich or blended learning because it did not follow a true blended model. Monique Markoff (2014) defines blended learning as learning from computers about 25% or more each day. Based on this definition, I do use blended learning. My students learn online at their own pace, can receive immediate feedback, and have access to their learning at home. I am fully committed to my students using technology. I have went beyond expectations to find ways to use technology to transform my instruction, and my district is prepared with tech support, proper bandwidth, and teacher training.

Joi Ito (2014) said that, “Education is what people do to you. Learning is what you do to yourself.” I love to educate, but my passion is learning and helping to develop learners through innovative practices.

References:

Ito, J. [TED]. (2014, July 7). Want to innovate? Become a “now-ist.” [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsjTVGIw4z8

Markoff, M. [TEDxTalks]. (2014, May 6). Blended learning and the future of education [Video file].

Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mb2d8E1dZjY&feature=youtu.be

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page