top of page

Keeping Up with the ePortfolios


"Keeping Up with the ePortfolios" may not be as intriguing as "Keeping Up with the Kardashians," but it's certainly worthwhile and useful. The most difficult part of keeping up with anything these days is time. Nobody has time for their job, their family, their hobbies, exercising, sleep, etc. How could anyone have time to keep up with an ePortfolio?

Through time management and priorities, it can be done. If you're struggling with the idea of finding time for ePortfolio development, (like I am) these are my suggestions.

1. Don't try to get too much done at once. Set small goals, like writing 40-50 words each day. Keep paper and pencil or the notes app on your phone handy so you can jot something down when it comes to you.

2. Use the ePortfolio as the reflection that you already do. After each lesson, you already think about how it went and where you need to go with the material next. Instead of just thinking about it, write it down.

3. Create good bones. Having an ePortfolio that's already structured is easier to work with than one that needs an overhaul each time you try to add something.

4. Take pictures and videos freely. These become powerful tools on your ePortfolio but don't take as much time as words.

5. Did you find something inspirational? Do a project or professional development? Have a noteworthy lesson? Throw them on your ePortfolio! The ePortfolio does not have be merely a highlight real. It should be authentic learning that encompasses anything that aided in the learning or teaching process.

As I continue to teach and learn, I will be adding to my ePortfolio in the form of blogging and project uploads to the sections "Teaching & Learning" and "Digital Learning in my Classroom." The continuous use of my ePortfolio, although time consuming, will allow me to grow as a learner, teacher, and digital leader. In my career, I want to be the best teacher I can be; it just takes some dedication and time to "keep up."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page