top of page

Digital Close Reading


While reading text, I like to write down my takeaways, connections, and questions. In fourth grade, we use close reading where students are asked to read a text several times for different purposes while also making connections, asking questions, and summarizing. I decided to put that teaching strategy into practice while reading about the ePortfolio. The following annotations are in reference to Dr. Harapnuik's ePortfolio articles as a component of EDLD 5303 at Lamar University.

  • According to Harapnuik (2016) in “EDLD 5303 Getting Started Tips”

  • EDLD 5303 has no other assignments so that we can focus completely on our ePortfolio because students said the hardest part about ePortfolio management is time.

  • “In EDLD 5303 students are given the opportunity to move beyond dropping assignments into a digital container and are encouraged to start to consider and show how they plan to use technology to enhance their own learning and their learning environments” (para. 6). – The term “digital container” is a clever metaphor. I am looking forward to building something meaningful rather than just adding drops in a bucket.

  • reorganize, make it user friendly, add to it and develop it as you grow

  • According to Harapnuik (n.d. a) in “Eportfolio: the minimalist fundamentals of eportfolios”

  • Keep it simple.

  • Why – active and deeper learner, “go and show” not “sit and get” – I will be using that terminology in my classroom. I am very much a teacher that has students involved in their own learning rather than watching and absorbing.

  • What – digital evidence of meaningful connections, reflection – Reflection has always been a challenging activity for me. I always briefly reflect in my mind, but rarely get my thoughts written down. I think the ePortfolio gives me a means of sharing my reflections with more purpose.

  • How – select tools, decide on content, commit

  • WordPress seems to be favored, but I love Wix because it fits my personality.

  • Getting your own domain is suggested. Research shows that you are more likely to continue to use your ePortfolio if you pay for your own domain.

  • Who – debate about whom the owner is if assignments are given and graded; the creator is the owner because of COVA for ideas (post what you want) – This connects with the statement of recent college graduates not being able to create something of their own. The ePortolfio gives me the opportunity to create something of my own and prove I can do it.

  • I wonder what this means:

  • “Disruption: Disrupting the institution...Effective eportfolios are disruptive because they don’t fit within our standards and summative assessment focused educational culture” (para. 6). – I am thinking he is pointing at the fact that ePortfolios are not a regular project because they are not turned in at the end of a course and left behind, but rather developed as the learner grows throughout a course and beyond.

  • According to Harapnuik (n.d. b) in “What is an Eportfolio”

  • “a learner’s digital evidence of meaningful connections” – Breaking that down:

  • digital – online

  • evidence – proof of learning

  • meaningful – significant, relevant, important

  • connections – to you, your students, educational practice, technology, and the world around you

  • According to Harapnuik (2015) in “Making Meaningful Connections in an Eportfolio”

  • New graduates don’t know how to create something of their own, solve problems, or think critically. I am technically a new graduate (2014) and have been told by colleagues that people my age don’t know how to think.

  • Instead of collecting the dots, connect the dots. This reminds me of how teachers are asked to constantly collect data and never have time analyze the data. We collect, collect, collect and often miss out on actually connecting, which is not beneficial.

  • The ePortfolio has the potential to get educated, skilled people out of low-skilled jobs. This made me think deeply, and I came to the conclusion that although a prospective employer may not hire someone for having an ePortfolio alone, it certainly gives the candidate an edge and confidence in themselves.

  • ”An eportfolio is not just a digital file cabinet where one show how many dots they have collected– it is domain of one’s own where the student reveals their learning journey and shows through reflection, speculation and documentation all the meaningful connections that they have made. The eportfolio itself is a space that the student creates. Perhaps most importantly, an eportfolio can be used to show a student’s growth and how they have matured over time and how they have made a connection between their schoolwork and their personal and professional lives” (para. 6). – This quote was my main takeaway. The ePortfolio is personal, unique, and shows growth in a meaningful way.

My students normally do their close reading on paper with pencils and highlighters, but I have begun working on digital close reading with them using online novels and Padlet as evidence. This practice of doing a digital close read for the ePortfolio articles will help me as I continue to implement close reading in my classroom. I am always learning and growing, and my goal is to develop my ePortfolio to reflect that.

References

Harapnuik, D. (2016, March 3). EDLD 5303 Getting Started Tips. Retrieved October 12, 2017, from

http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=6322

Harapnuik, D. (n.d. a). Eportfolio. Retrieved October 12, 2017, from

http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=5973

Harapnuik, D. (2015, May 26). Making Meaningful Connections in an Eportfolio. Retrieved October 12,

2017, from http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=5790

Harapnuik, D. (n.d. b). What is an Eportfolio. Retrieved October 12, 2017, from

http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=5977

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page