top of page

Social Networking Redefined

According to Graffin (n.d.), professional learning networks (PLNs) are about developing relationships and connections with teachers around the world, sharing ideas and resources, and sharing diverse perspectives. I believe that PLNs are a beneficial way for teachers to communicate with each other and learn from each other. I am a member of several professional learning networks, and the teachers in them are passionate, helpful, and encouraging. Teaching is a challenging profession, but PLNs allow teachers to connect with each other to celebrate the triumphs and work through the tribulations around the clock. Sylvia Duckworth (n.d.) describes ten reasons why professional learning networks are important and every teacher needs one:

Most of my PLNs are within social media. Social media is not just for funny cat videos and random status updates; there is true networking within social media that is valuable beyond compare. On Facebook, for example, other teachers can respond to a question that I post within minutes because people are more likely to check Facebook daily than a different website. Related to my field as an elementary school teacher, specifically fourth grade, I am a member of numerous professional learning networks on Facebook including Upper Elementary Educators, Inspired in Upper Elementary, and Fourth Grade Teacher Chat. These groups have been incredibly helpful as there are teachers of all ages and experience levels from all over the country, some even outside of the United States. There are also Facebook pages for teachers where communication and sharing occurs, such as The Teacher Next Door and Teaching Ideas. Related to technology and digital learning, I am a member of Tech with Us Community and Teachers Using Google Classroom on Facebook as well. These groups are just as responsive and helpful, but specialize in technology in the classroom. With social media in mind, I also network with teachers on Instagram by following other teachers and through hashtags such as #iteachfourth and #iteachtoo. These are not necessarily networks, but it is a great way to see what other teachers are doing and get ideas. (However, be cautious with hashtags because anybody can use these hashtags, not just teachers.) Outside of social media, I am also a member of BloomBoard, which is technology-based professional development for teachers, and the Teaching Channel, which gives teachers the opportunity to view other teachers teach.

Professional learning networks have been invaluable to my development as a teacher and a lifelong learner. I have both contributed and consumed in the communities. For example, in Upper Elementary Educators a teacher asked about what to do with the students for a lesson about September 11. She received numerous suggestions, and I recommended to start with the national anthem, watch an age-appropriate video online, and then make acrostic poems with the word “Patriot” since the holiday is now referred to as Patriot Day. I enjoy giving suggestions to other teachers whenever I have the experience or ideas to answer their questions. It is a safe environment to take risks where I know I will be respected and supported. I also do a lot of consuming, especially on the Teaching Channel and BloomBoard. Both of these networks have allowed me to grow as a professional through learning specific content and watching other teachers. For example, last year I did a training on suicide awareness and prevention through BloomBoard. I have yet to contribute to these learning networks, but I would like to upload a video to the Teaching Channel sometime soon.

Teaching is always changing, and professional learning networks help teachers stay connected to each other and the world around them. Each and every teacher should be a member of at least one PLN, especially on social media. I have networked, grown as an educator, and learned more than I ever thought I could.

Links to the Suggested Professional Learning Networks:

References

Duckworth, S. (n.d.). 10 Reasons Why Every Teacher Needs a PLN [Digital image]. Retrieved from

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/a8/1f/73/a81f73f5d5dcf0f548afacd710f7d5fd.jpg

Graffin, M. (n.d.). Step 1: What is a PLN? Retrieved September 25, 2017, from

https://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/pln-challenge-1-what-the-heck-is-a-pln/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page