top of page

Growing a Growth Mindset

In my young career as a teacher, my main goal involving technology is to utilize it when appropriate and not overuse it; it is a tool, not a teacher or a crutch. At this point in my classroom, technology is a motivator for students that increases engagement. My goal is to continue using technology as a tool to motivate and engage while learning. If technology completely replaces the teacher, students will view technology more negatively and less as an innovative way to learn. Because of this, I view the “why” of learning in the UDL framework as most important. Students need to feel a connection in order to retain information. As Benjamin Franklin’s famous quote that has been passed orally through generations says, “Tell me and I forget, teach me and I remember, involve me and I learn.” When students are motivated, engaged, interested, and challenged, they are learning. The Universal Design for Learning and personalized learning means that a learner’s individual needs can be met. Technology has the ability to meet students at their level and differentiate for all learners and abilities. The learner is able to take away more from a lesson where UDL principles are in effect. UDL intertwines with Differentiated Instruction, but the difference is that UDL looks to change the curriculum design from the beginning whereas in DI the teacher modifies instruction, not curriculum, for individual students (UDL Intersections, 2013).

The goal of using technology to motivate and engage under the idea of UDL, however, is slightly deterred by my mindset. At this point, I consider myself somewhere between a growth mindset and a fixed mindset. I believe that there is no limit to my learning and what I learn is in my control, but I have a difficult time accepting failure. I am working towards failing forward, but it is difficult to overcome the idea of failure. Having the belief of growth mindset but a fear of failure has sometimes led me to the safe choice when it comes to technology in the classroom instead of taking a risk. For example, I tend to learn towards research-based and teacher-tested programs when I could be trying something more innovative and unique with my students. I used to avoid failure at all costs, always taking the tried and true route, but as I gain more experience in teaching and life, I am opening myself more to taking failure as it comes. To help develop my acceptance of failure, I can watch videos, read articles, and more, but the true acceptance will be within me. The phrase “fake it till you make it” comes to mind. By this, I mean that I need to constantly tell myself that failure is acceptable and I can learn from it until I actually believe my own words.

Based on my goals and mindset, the STEM/STEAM/STREAM initiative is something that I can learn from and utilize in my classroom. I feel like this educational movement uses technology in appropriate and engaging ways for students and gives teachers the opportunity to fail with students (in a positive way). STEM research reveals that “technology is not just a ubiquitous component of contemporary culture, but also one of the critical keys to global competitiveness” (Sanders, 2008). By incorporating STEM into my classroom, I will be bettering my students and myself with technology as a component and growth mindset as a backbone. On the other hand, while I am developing a growth mindset in myself and my students, it is important that I don’t fall into the trap of a “false” growth mindset. It is easy to praise students for success and effort, but I need to praise the productive effort that eventually leads to success. It is easy to tell students they can do anything, but I need to help students develop the skills to be able to do anything. I need to be mindful and hold myself accountable while also holding the students accountable.

Growth mindset, Universal Design for Learning, and STEM are buzz words in education right now, and for good reason. All three of these concepts can work together and benefit both teachers and students in many aspects.

Additional Resources to Consider (for Growth Mindset, UDL, and STEM):

References

Sanders, M. (2008, December 1). STEM, STEM Education, STEMmania: A Series of Circumstances Has

Once More Created an Opportunity for Technology Educators to Develop and Implement New

Integrative Approaches to STEM Education Championed by STEM Education Reform Doctrine Over the

Past Two Decades. The Technology Teacher.

UDL Intersections Universal Design for Learning and Universal Design. (2013). Retrieved from

http://www.udlcenter.org/sites/udlcenter.org/files/UDL-DI%20BRIEFfinal.pdf

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page